The Continental Divide Trail

Living near the Continental Divide I was always aware of the Continental Divide trail but for years never hiked a portion of it.

Here is the portion I hiked

continental divide trail

This past weekend some good family friends came for a visit so we decided to hike a bit of the Divide. We entered at the MacDonald Pass trail head off of Highways 12 in Helena and Hiked in about 2 miles or so. It was a extremely small portion of the trail in comparison to the thousands of miles it encompasses, but it was really neat to be on such a massive trail.

The Continental Divide Trail

It was a rainy/smokey day so the lighting was pretty interesting and the wildflowers were stunning.

Continental Divide Trail Continental Divide Trail Continental Divide Trail Continental Divide Trail Continental Divide Trail

 

It sounds lame and I know it does but I felt like I was part of something so huge and It was humbling. My tiny journey on the Continental Divide put into perspective just how small our worlds are which is also my reasoning for wanting to travel the world. I want to be able to see as many other “worlds” as I can in order to better grip what the rest of the world is really like.

I would love to be able to one day hike this trail in its entirety and maybe the Appalachian trail as well but for now I have a little taste.

Leave a Reply

