The Island Life

Over spring break this last year I went to the beautiful state of Hawaii. I truthfully didn’t know what to expect from such a trip, but I can tell you, it definitely changed me. The whole trip started off on a Sunday, boarding the plane in cold winter stricken Montana. From here we flew to Salt Lake City and practically had to run to our next gate to avoid missing our flight to Los Angeles. The worst part of the trip had to have been the 5 1/2 hour flight from Los Angeles to Honolulu. Then from Honolulu, we flew to a little airport on the island of Maui, arriving at 10:30 local time, 2:30 am Montana

 

The next day was the most beautiful day I’ve ever seen, 80 degrees by noon and the sun was out. The first day we spent on the beach, getting groceries, and catching some Z’s. The second day, we took advantage of still being jet lagged and went to watch the sunrise from the top of Mt. Haleakala. We had to wake up at 4 in the morning and drive the winding road up the side of the dormant volcano. The wind was piercing and it was dark.  It was completely worth it.

 

The adventure to see the more remote places of the island of Maui was calling us, next thing on our plate was the road to Hana. 40 miles of winding road through the rainforest of Maui.  Those 40 miles consist of 59 bridges, 49 of which are one lane,  and around 620 curves in the road. If you don’t stop along the route it will take you about 2.5 hours to complete. If you don’t stop though, you’ll be missing some beautiful sights.

20140327_095514

20140327_103206_Richtone(HDR)

20140327_111004_Richtone(HDR)
20140327_111109_Richtone(HDR)
20140327_111319_Richtone(HDR)
Those trees are naturally that color, it reminds me of something out of Dr. Suess.
The last days we were there we spent on the beach, either snorkeling or just relaxing. We did go up for a zip lining tour, which was my favorite part. However, I don’t have any pictures from that adventure to share with you guys. On that trip I did meet two of the coolest people I have ever met. Joe, was one guide that was from California and he was the stereotypical beach bum. Our other guide, Loki, was half Samoan and half Navajo Indian. He was a giant of a man and could be a comedian. Those two made the experience that much more fun.
This trip really opened my eyes to how truly beautiful a place can be without needing the frigid mountain air and the high altitudes. The people of Hawaii are some of my favorite people I have ever met and I highly recommend visiting. I can’t wait to go back. I love it there.
Leave a Reply

